Six Warriors Named to Academic All-Conference Team

Six Warriors Named to Academic All-Conference Team

High Point, N.C. - Six Warriors were named to the 2016-2017 Basketball Academic All-Conference teams on Wednesday, March 1.  One of Conference Carolinas foundational principles is "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and the student-athletes and member institutions representing the team all exemplify this commitment.

In total, 45 Basketball student-athletes were named to the team for the 2016-2017 season.  The Conference Carolinas Academic All-Conference Teams are comprised of junior and senior student-athletes who have competed in a conference-sponsored sport and maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all academic work completed while attending their member institution.  The GPA for the Academic All-Conference Teams are based on the student-athlete's cumulative average through the previous semester of work and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.


Men's Basketball: Darius Sharpe

Women's Basketball: Cayse Branyon, Shelby Gilbert, Kasey Howard, Noelle van Zadelhoff, Erika Wesolek.


A complete list of the Conference Carolinas 2016-2017 Basketball Academic All-Conference Team is listed below.

Men's Basketball (19)
Barton (1)
Tyler Thayer

Belmont Abbey (3)

Tyler Horn
Deion Lane
Sean Moriarty


King (1)
Derrick Pope


Lees-McRae (6)
Keegan Crabtree
Jonathan Honore
Darius Malbon
Tyriq Royal
Avery Wallis
Zachary Wilmots


Mount Olive (1)
Emmanuel Patton


North Greenville (4)
Miguel Cartagena Reyes
Garrett King
Joshua Metzger
Joshua Moore


Pfeiffer (2)
Brendon Jones
Marcus Sawyers


Southern Wesleyan (1)
Darius Sharpe


Women's Basketball (26)
Barton (1)
Jasmine Fate

Belmont Abbey (1)
Megan Weidenhamer


Converse (1)
Kassidy Moorhouse


King (2)
Keyanna Blakely
Amy Van Deventer


Lees-McRae (2)
Mackenzie Blakenship
Brea Forbes


Limestone (2)
Peyton Bockholt
Aaliyah Davis


Mount Olive (4)
Rachel Fehl
Julie Gonzalez-Rodriguez
China Marshall
Ni'ya Styles


Pfeiffer (8)
Jazzmine Devlin
VIvan Doerr
Grayson Harris
Alyssa Harvell
Lauren Janka
Kaylee O'Dwyer
Megan Pritchard
Dagga Scott


Southern Wesleyan (5)
Cayse Branyon
Shelby Gilbert
Kasey Howard
Noelle van Zadelhoff
Erika Wesolek